How many projects do you juggle?

Some times when I sew I feel like I have the attention span of a 3 year old.  Right now, I’m still working on the Pants Project, slowly making headway with the SBA, but today I started a completely new project of sewing skirts for work.  I have nothing to wear to this new  job.  I go to work looking like I just left a backyard bar-b-que.  Hence the need for new skirts.  This is one I’m working on now. 

 I bought the print fabric in Victoria BC a couple of years ago.  The turquoise is from several years ago from a long since closed fabric store.   Looking at how well the colors go together I’m so glad I didn’t give it away or something.

But, how quickly my thoughts move on to some other project I want to start.  I want to make a bathroom rug,  I’m thinking of the upcoming fall wardrobe and this new vintage pattern I got is crying out loud to be made NOW.  My thoughts are  running to Tenneesee Williams type  hot summer nights where the only comfortable clothing is a slip dress.  But, I don’t want to start until I at least get the pants and halter dress done.  Stay focused….

 There is a Denver Sewing Collective meeting coming up, I’d like to have made some progress on my projects that I keep dutifully keep lugging to the meetings.  How many projects do you juggle?  Do you find that works for you?  Or are you a one project at a time person.

4 thoughts on “How many projects do you juggle?

  1. I officially have three quilts in the works at the moment, and I want to get started on some of my clothing projects. I also just recently bought a pattern to make my own travel duffle bag. If I do that all at the same time, that’ll be good 5-6 projects. Oh….and there’s a wall hanging I want to work on for my mom’s birthday… 🙂

  2. I guess as long as things get done, that’s the point. Sometimes I find I just wasn’t that emotionally attached to a project in the first place and it gets “put away”. Usually the ones that matter get done…sometime. So, heck I need to add more to my list of things to do!

  3. I used to think I was strange in having more than a couple of projects in the works or in my mind at the same time. But, I got the quilting inspiration from two of my aunts, and I was speaking with both of them about it. They told me it would be weird if I DIDN’T have 5-6 things going on at one time. I start making something. Then, I put it aside because I get busy, frustrated or bored. I pick up something else. Eventually, I figure it will all get finished. 🙂

  4. For me, and sewing projects, I work on one and then go to another. I forget the one I “put away” until later if I go on to other sewing projects. So, I forget about the “put away” garment and end up never finishing.
    I like the skirt you have pictured.
    eg

Leave a Reply

