States of Dress artist keeps creating

I first heard of Robin Barkus Slonina in 2007 when I saw her mini documentary on her  Wyoming Dress.  I thought it was beautiful and wildly creative. The photo reminded me of Ophelia from Othello.  I love this kind of site specific art work, much more than Christo type huge installations that seem to distract rather than bring in. I think her art work is cheeky and fun and offers a bit of color to an ordinary day. Check her blog out here.  Near as I can tell she hasn’t posted in a long while.  But, it’s still fun to look around her blog and website.  My favorite is this one the Illinois Red Dress for obvious reasons.   I couldn’t find out exactly how many State Dresses she has completed.   Does anyone know?

One thought on “States of Dress artist keeps creating

Leave a Reply

