Felting for the first time

I’m in love with felting.  Why haven’t I done this before?  Here is a sweater I bought from my local thrift shop.  This was a women’s extra large and on me it came down to mid thigh.  This sweater was from Banana Republic and was very nice in its original state.  I chose a 100% wool that said dry clean only.

Here is what it looks like after one wash in the cycle plus one dry.  Each on the highest heat setting. 

This is after cutting along all seam lines. The bulkier the knit the more dense the felting will become.  I don’t think this felt will work for small little sewn items.  The feel of this is amazing though.  I wanted to use this for a pincushion, but I’ll have to see if this will work, it might just be too dense. 

 Next, I dyed it using Kool-Aid.  I learned  this from a costume shop I worked at, when you’re in a pinch. I wasn’t sure how it would take to the wool.

But, here is the end result after it has dried.  I wanted a softer pink but this turned out surprisingly well. A kind of pinky orange (I think they call that salmon Jill).  Both pieces are 7 1/2 by 5.

I have made two pieces and I’m going to see what inspires me to make out of  the new felt.  Like I said they are really pretty thick and rather stiff.  Not at all drapey.  So, if you have any ideas on what I should make I would love to hear.  Oh, and this drink mix is crazy.  Check out my hands and this was after washing.  So, really, don’t drink the Kool-Aid.

2 thoughts on “Felting for the first time

  1. Jill,
    That’s great! You should totally make a small coin purse or small clutch out of those pieces. Great way to practice sewing with your new felt pieces. Will wool dyed with kool-aid rub off onto hands or clothes?

    • So far it has not rubbed off even off of my hands. I did microwave it so maybe that binded it. And, i soaked it in water again and it rinsed clear. Crazy stuff. I like the idea of a small clutch. Thanks! I’m sorry you can’t make the next meeting. Maybe when finals are over.

Leave a Reply

