Making Mug Rugs

our lady of perpetual sewing

At our next meetup on November 18th the members of Denver Sewing Collective are going to be making Mug Rugs.   I had no idea what a mug rug was until a couple of months ago. Fellow member Amy posted this idea on our meetup site.   They are like mini fabric placemats, or a big coaster. Perfect to put your mug on and a few cookies.  I have seen photos on Flickr of all kinds of  mug rugs.  They’re very popular to make for gifts.  Some ideas are to make the mug rug and add a cute coffee mug filled with favorite teas, or instant coffees, put a bow on it and you have a great gift. 

In a bold move on my part, I contacted Ryan Walsh of  Ryan Walsh Quilts  to see if he could supply our group with a tutorial and to my pleasant surprise he not only asked which design I would like but  will be mentioning  our group on his blog.  I stumbled upon Ryan when I was looking at photos for mug rugs.  He has a blog called I’m Just a Guy Who Quilts and it is packed with inspiration.  The guy lives the life!  Travel, fabric, sewing, creating, la dolce vita!

Rachel Lyddon of Contented very generously supplied a tutorial on her lovely mug rugs as well.  She resides in South East England with her two boys and husband.  By all accounts she is a prolific Mug Rug Maker.  Check out her blog Contented and her awesome Flickr Page  and last but not least her Esty store Contented Be.  I love her cute little felt birds.  Check them out!

This has been a lot of fun ‘meeting’ other sewing and fabric enthusiasts and building our little community.  Our meetup will be  a really great one.  I will post on our meetup site and here on the ‘ol blog.

Leave a Reply

